2022 Hot Water Forum

March 21 – 23, 2022

    As climate efforts intensify, the 14th Hot Water Forum will offer a singular look at how water systems can not only save money but also reduce harmful pathogens and building greenhouse gas emissions.  

    The forum comes at a critical — and promising — time. The emergence of new water heating technologies and the Biden administration’s emphasis on workforce development and building decarbonization are driving fresh opportunities for the hot water industry to meet challenges of greenhouse gas reduction, grid resilience, and equity. 

    ACEEE’s Hot Water Forum is the only national conference focused exclusively on water heating, the second largest use of energy in residential and multifamily homes. Attendees will have the opportunity to connect with industry leaders, advocates, startups, and other stakeholders as this tight-knit community reconvenes in-person for the first time since 2019. 

    Likely participants: 

    For more than a decade, the annual forum has brought together a diverse group of equipment and component manufacturers; water, gas, and electric utility professionals; local, state, and federal agency personnel; energy efficiency program planners, operators, and evaluators; plumbers and installers; policymakers; NGOs; engineers, and consultants. 

    Click here to see a list of organizations that participated in the 2021 virtual forum.

    Sponsorship Opportunities

    If your organization would like to learn more about the various sponsorship levels and the associated benefits, please download the sponsorship prospectus below and contact Charlie Herron.

    Download the HWF22 sponsorship prospectus
    Call for Presentations

    The submission window closed on October 29, 2021.

    We are pleased to be hosting the 2022 Hot Water Forum in a hybrid environment with virtual and in-person attendance options at the Crowne Plaza Midtown Atlanta. We encourage you to submit a presentation idea for a unique opportunity to present and connect with other industry leaders on the latest in energy-efficient hot water systems. We are also seeking ideas for demonstrations of products, systems, and training for those planning to attend the HWF in person.

    Your submission should be no more than 200 words and cover up to two of the following categories.

    Equity and Workforce Development Policies
    •    Developing training and curriculums  •    Decarbonization and electrification 
    •    Plumber and installer perspectives  •    Energy codes and equipment standards  
    •    Promoting supplier diversity  •    Impact of new federal policies  
    •    Reaching environmental justice communities  •    International perspectives 
    •    Workforce advancement and upskilling  •    Plumbing codes and enforcement 
      •    State and regional policies 
      •    Utility program design 
    System Design Technologies
    •    Designing for resilience  •    Commercial water heating systems 
    •    Legionella and pathogens  •    Dual fuel technologies 
    •    Modeling and simulations  •    Grid-connected water heating 
    •    Plumbing system design strategies  •    Heat pump water heaters 
      •    Natural gas advances 
      •    Tankless and combi systems 


    Steering Committee
    George Chapman
    Energy Solutions
    Megan Ching
    Association for Energy Affordability, Inc.
    Jim Cika
    International Code Council

    Amin Delagah
    Pacific Gas & Electric

    Bouba Dieme
    Consortium for Energy Efficiency
    Karen Fenaughty
    Florida Solar Energy Center, University of Central Florida
    Ruth Georges
    Eversource Energy
    Paul Glanville
    Gas Technology Institute
    Kyle Gluesenkamp
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    Bill Hosken
    A.O. Smith
    Kim Katz
    Consortium for Energy Efficiency
    Maggie Kelley Riggins
    Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance
    Gary Klein
    Gary Klein Associates
    Ben Larson
    Larson Energy Research
    Christoph Lohr
    International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials
    Jim Lutz
    Hot Water Research
    Tania Ullah
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
    Larry Weingarten
    Geoff Wickes
    Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance
    Aaron Winer
    Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance


    © 2021 All rights reserved.